Auto Coverage Against Theft New Jersey

In New Jersey State, auto insurance is mandatory under law. Depending on the model of a car, age and driving record of a driver, residence, and type of insurance policy, costs may vary.  All drivers in New Jersey are required to hold minimum insurance coverage. Auto insurance law in the state is based on a ‘no-fault’ rule that states that regardless of fault in an accident, an insured has the right to coverage before a court ruling otherwise.

Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act

Auto insurer conformance with New Jersey’s Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act 1998, mandated that all drivers in the state carry a basic policy. In New Jersey, the Act mandates that insurance must be available to all drivers having a right to be insured. Exceptions and penalties applied under the 1998 Act, apply to driver’s license suspension, failure to pay license or registration fees, or incarceration. This includes drivers that are currently, or have previously been, incarcerated for Grand Theft Auto (GTA) in New Jersey.

New Jersey GTA Limits and Coverage

Drivers should protect themselves with auto theft insurance in New Jersey. Auto insurance companies serving the Newark metropolitan area, consider auto theft statistics in the calculation of policy costs. The cars most stolen in the state are assigned higher insurance rates. Automobile models targeted for theft the most often in New Jersey are the Honda Accord, Honda Civic, Dodge Caravan, Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee, Ford Econoline E250, Ford Full-size Pickup, Nissan Altima, Toyota Camry, and Toyota Corolla.

Required Coverage in Newark, NJ

All vehicles in New Jersey must be insured with liability coverage for property damage of at least $5,000, and personal injury protection of $15,000. No-fault insurance agreements limit the right to sue a driver for pain and suffering beyond short-term medical care and bills.

Permanent or significant injury can be purchased for coverage of up to $250,000 in victim’s compensation in the case of a lawsuit. Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury coverage in New Jersey is a $15,000 minimum and up to $30,000 maximum coverage for an insured in an accident with an uninsured or inadequately insured motorist.

New Jersey drivers unable to show law enforcement a driver’s license and insurance coverage after an accident, may be subject to a fine of $300, community service, jail time, license suspension, and insurance surcharges.

Protect yourself and your vehicle with auto insurance in Newark, NJ.